

Official Minutes Faculty Senate Meeting April 22, 2024

<u>Call to order:</u> Senate President Brandon Dupont called the meeting to order at 4:01 pm.

Approval of Minutes: Minutes of the April 8th Faculty Senate meeting were approved as written by general consent. Minutes of the March 20th SOSEC meeting, April 2nd ACC meeting, and April 9th SLC meeting were accepted as written.

Reports and Announcements

Brandon Dupont, Senate President reported that:

- The Senate welcomes Kristin Denham to serve as Senator representing CHSS-HUM and Liz Chen as Senator representing CSE. Both appointments are for the Spring term.
- April 26th is the deadline for Faculty Senate nominations to be submitted to their appropriate college governance body. Senators who wish to serve another term must be nominated again. The bylaws allow Senators to serve up to three terms.
- NWCCU representatives met with Brandon Dupont and Michael Slouber, Senate Vice President and President-elect, during the NWCCU site visit last week.

Brad Johnson, *Provost and Executive Vice President* reported that:

 The NWCCU was impressed with the level of engagement from the campus community during the site visit. Accreditors offered several commendations following their visit, including the University's approach to meeting Regular and Substantive Interaction (RSI) requirements. Recommendations included completing the facilities long-term master plan and publishing program learning outcomes. These recommendations are part of a draft report from the NWCCU that will be finalized soon. Once finalized, the report will be published.

Gabe Wong, Associated Students Senate President reported that:

- Candidate filing for the ASWWU election has been extended to April 30th.
- The AS Senate is in the process of amending their constitution.
- The AS Senate is drafting several resolutions to be finalized before the end of the academic year, including a resolution on the use of Artificial Intelligence.

Senate Committee Report

Senate Academic Technology Committee Update: Derek Moscato, ATC Chair, presented a report on the work of the Academic Technology Committee (ATC). Moscato reported ATC is in a regenerative phase as the committee emerges from the pandemic era. Coming out of the pandemic ATC incurred much turnover, but the committee is pleased to report that they have added seven new members in the current academic year. Current focus areas of the ATC include Artificial Intelligence and recommendations for Student Technology Fee participation.

Of note, thanks to support from the University and colleges, and the hard work of ATC members from prior committees, <u>Atlas.ti</u> was rolled out for the Western community in 2022. It allows faculty to code and analyze transcripts and field notes, create network diagrams, and do data visualization, among other research outputs. If interested in this program, please visit ATUS's <u>software page</u>.

Action Items

Proposed Revised ACC Policy on Credit Hours: Kristi Tyran, ACC Chair, presented a revised ACC policy on Credit Hours and a <u>Guidance Document on Regular and Substantive</u>

Interaction (RSI). Tyran reported that the current Credit Hour Policy was developed by ACC and passed by the Faculty Senate in May 2022. Since then, ACC has gained experience and feedback about how to best address proposals for alternative modalities, which informed the policy revision, which is required to meet federal regulations.

Senators raised concerns related to the language that no more than 20% of contact time should come from low engagement RSI. Tyran reported this suggestion was developed by the ACC's read of federal regulations on RSI. Senators raised questions regarding instructor-initiated interaction in an online course. Tyran reported that discussion boards and video recordings embedded with activities are examples of ways to meet requirements, but that viewing of a recorded lecture on its own does not count as instructor-initiated time. Senators expressed concerns that the RSI guidance document will lead to unnecessary standardization and questioned its potential effect on the University's offering of online courses. Senators emphasized that the RSI Guidance Document is a working draft and is subject to change.

A motion made by Troy Abel (and seconded) **to approve** the Revised ACC Policy on Credit Hours **passed** with 15 votes in favor, 6 opposing, and one abstention.

<u>Proposed Revisions to Faculty Handbook - Constitution</u>: A <u>summary of key changes</u> to the Constitution was presented at the most recent Senate meeting on April 8th.

A motion made by Ron Helms (and seconded) **to approve** the proposed revisions to the Faculty Handbook Constitution **passed** unanimously.

Items from the Floor

RSI Policy:

Senators expressed constituent concerns related to the ACC guidance document on RSI. Senators reported concerns that the recommendations are overly restrictive and do not sufficiently allow for creativity. Senators also expressed concerns regarding college curriculum committees being tasked to review legacy classes for compliance with college modality policies, which include requirements related to RSI. Brandon Dupont, Senate President, encouraged further discussion with ACC regarding these concerns, including regular meetings between the ACC Chair and College Committee Chair.

Senators adjourned at 5:24 p.m.

Faculty Senate - ROSTER 2023-24

VOTING ATTENDEES Faculty members			NON-VOTING MEMBERS Student members	
Charles Anderson	CHSS-HUM, History			
Rich Brown	CFPA, Theatre & Dance	Р	Standing Committees	
Tim Bruce (CAROLA McGOWAN – Proxy)	Graduate School	Р	Eva Gil, SLC Chair	
Xiaofeng Chen	CBE, Decision Sciences	Р	Bidisha Biswas, Leg Representative	Р
Liz Chen	CSE, Math	Р	Allison Giffen, Budget Representative	NA
Kristen Chmielewski	CHSS-SBC, HHD	Р	Derek Moscato, ATC Chair	Р
Catherine Clark	CSE, Chemistry	Р	Jennifer Seltz, OCE Chair	
Sondra Cuban*	WCE, HCS		Shevell Thibou, CUE Chair	NA
Kristin Denham	CHSS-HUM, Linguistics	Р	Kristi Tyran, ACC Chair	Р
Dawna Drum	CBE, Accounting	Р	EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS	
Brandon Dupont*	At Large	Р	Christopher Biano, Council of Deans	Р
Lindsay Foreman-Murray	WCE, Ed Leadership	Р	Brad Johnson, Provost	Р
Allison Giffen	CHSS-HUM, English	Р	Peter Pihos, UFWW President	Р
Jim Graham	CHSS-SBS, Psychology	Р	Sabah Randhawa, President	
Kameron Harris	CSE, Computer Science	Р		
Ron Helms	CHSS-SBS, Sociology	Р		
Erika McPhee-Shaw	CENV, ESCI			
Jeffrey Meier	CSE, Math	Р		
Tesla Monson	CHSS-SBS, Anthropology	Р		
Mark Peyron	CSE, Engineering & Design	Р		
Clayton Pierce	Fairhaven	Р		
Camilo Ponton*	CSE, Geology	Р		
Jason Query	CBE, Economics	Р	Recorder	
James Ray	CFPA, Music	Р	Abby Peterson	Р
Michael Slouber	CHSS-HUM, GHR	Р	Guests	
Shevell Thibou*	Libraries	Р	Becky Johnston, Faculty Senate	Р
Derek Yip-Hoi	CSE, Engineering & Design	Р	Shelli Soto, Associate Vice President of Enrollment Management	Р
CHSS-HUM (VACANT)		N/A	Jamie Lawson, Registrar's Office	Р
WCE (VACANT)		N/A		
7				
		\dashv	Voting attendees	25
			Non-voting attendees	11
			TOTAL ATTENDEES	- ' '