

Committee Approved: 05/02/2024 Sent to Senate: 05/02/2024 Senate Approved: [date]

Senate Library Committee Meeting Minutes of April 23, 2024

Meeting Location: HH 232

SLC Chair Eva Gil called the meeting to order at 4:05 pm, welcoming 8 attendees (roster attached).

Meeting minutes of April 9, 2024 were approved electronically on April 10, 2024.

Reports and Announcements

There were no announcements from the Chair.

Discussion Item

Faculty Survey Reponses

Committee members continued their April 9, 2024 discussion of issues and themes from the faculty library survey. There was a discussion about the best way to format recommendations in a report that will be provided to Faculty Senate and to Libraries, with a decision that the report will include major themes with specific recommendations highlighted as well as the full survey results.

Committee members will draft summaries based on the following assignments, and email them to Becky Johnston, Faculty Senate Specialist, to include in a draft document:

- Support/Resources Shevell Thibou, then Shuo Li
- Collections Mary Weggman, then TBD
- Budget Eva Gil, then Emmy TBD

Becky Johnston will email voting members of the Committee who were absent regarding choosing assignments for co-drafting the report's collections and budget sections.

Drafts should be emailed to Becky by Thursday, May 2, for combining into a draft document for review and discussion at the May 7 Committee meeting.

Items From The Floor

There were no items from the floor

Meeting adjourned at 4:50 pm.

Senate Library Committee – ROSTER 2023-24

VOTING ATTENDEES			NON-VOTING ATTENDEES	
Faculty members			Recorder	
	Library	Р	Becky Johnston, Faculty Senate Specialist	Р
Mary Weggman Vacant	CHSS	NA	Specialist	
Tilmann Glimm	CSE	INA 	Guests	
Shuo Li	CBE	P	Guests	
Eva Gil	CFPA	P		
Vacant	CENV	-		
Hilary Schwandt	_	NA		
	FH WCE	Р		
Emmy Fincham	VVCE			
	mbers (if applicabl	le)		
James Dinh, AS Student				
		I		
John Danneker, Dean of Libraries		Р		
Shevell Thibou, Director of Teaching and Learning, Western Libraries		Р	Voting attendees	4
Elizabeth Joffrion, Director of Archives and Special Collections			Non-voting attendees	4
John Farquhar, ATUS Director		Р	TOTAL ATTENDEES	8